Crazy Mountains: Learning from Wilderness to Weigh Technology

By: Strong, David

Price: $24.95

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Near Fine


A clean, unmarked copy with a tight binding. 253 pages. Previous owner's name inside.


Stock Description


Reality is slipping away, writes David Strong in Crazy Mountains, and is being eroded by a glut of technological devices and commodities. But all is not lost if we learn to care for the things at the center of the good life.

Written in the tradition of Walden and A River Runs Through It with philosophical clarity and literary power, this book opens with a vivid account of the Crazy Mountains of Montana, an island of high, craggy peaks, forest, meadows, and rushing streams, surrounded by the sweep of the high plains. A newly-bulldozed road and a planned timber sale jeopardize the wild character of the range and trigger the wide-ranging reflections of this remarkable book.

Technology is transforming Earth in increasingly extensive ways, and Strong urges us to awaken from the spell of technology--from the unexamined belief that its devices and commodities make our lives good. He warns that even an environmental ethic can be subverted by the glamorous pull of the consumer culture. From wilderness we learn what things are real and how this reality can re-order our lives, our communities, and our nation. We learn another way to be.

This is a one-of-a-kind book. It soars gracefully, yet presents a comprehensive vision of the challenge wilderness offers to our contemporary culture.

Title: Crazy Mountains: Learning from Wilderness to Weigh Technology

Author: Strong, David

Categories: Technical/Technology, Environment,

Publisher: Albany, State Univ of New York Pr: 1995

ISBN Number: 0791426513

ISBN Number 13: 9780791426517

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Near Fine

Jacket Condition: No Jacket

Seller ID: 115459